4th semester Swiss Professional Degree (2017)

As a student of Swiss School of Tourism and Hospitality, what made you decide to study here?
My passion for hospitality started quite early. At the age of 15, during my holidays, I did my first work experience abroad in a hotel in Austria. From then on I knew that I wanted to do something with hospitality in the future. Furthermore as a member of Slow Food Youth Network I was passionate about gastronomy and was involved in the organization of food & wine events. Since I am also Swiss and Switzerland has a very good reputation internationally in the hotel industry, I decided to look specifically in Switzerland. That’s how I became familiar with the SSTH. I come from a very international family. My mother is from Switzerland and Peru and my father from Italy, that is where I grew up, in Verona. In addition, we are pretty well-travelled, multi-lingual and have actually lived in many different countries. This is what also fascinates me about this industry, that I will be able to work internationally, deal with people from different cultures and of course, see the world in doing so.

What are your career objectives? Do you already have plans on what you will do after SSTH?
After the Swiss Professional Degree, I will continue at SSTH the Bachelor's degree delivered by the EHL, the world’s first international hospitality management school and then work internationally, maybe in Asia or South America. A career in Marketing & Sales or a career in Events Management in the hospitality industry could be very interesting. But I can also imagine staying in Switzerland too and opening a boutique hotel together with my brother, who studied Culinary Arts in Switzerland too. I feel at home in Switzerland and love cities like Geneva and Zurich, which are quite international.

Have you already been on internship? What did you like best about the internship semester?
Yes, in the third semester I completed a 6-month internship in Wiesbaden in the 5-star luxury hotel, Nassauer Hof, Germany. I was four months at front reception and two months in service at the Michelin-starred restaurant ENTE. What I liked most about my internship was the interaction with the customer. Also being treated like an employee and not like an intern made me feel I was appreciated and trusted in my job.

What do you like most about SSTH?
I completed the first two semesters in the English program. Whilst I was on internship in Germany, I was able to improve my German, enough to transfer into the German program. The multilingualism of the course is a big plus at the SSTH. Also the combination of the theoretical knowledge and practical training in the first two semesters prepared me well for my internship in Wiesbaden. In particular, I was glad to have experienced service at a gala dinner. The practical element of the program is invaluable. I cannot imagine studying hospitality simply from text books. In the internship, I was also glad that we were able to learn about and use the hotel system “Fidelio” at SSTH as this was the main system at Wiesbaden’s reception during my internship.

Let’s talk about your personal and professional development. Where did you profit most?
From the internship I brought many new experiences and digital skills back to school. I also believe that I have changed a lot personally and I have grown in self confidence. What I appreciate the most at SSTH is the learning approach because it develops the skills within the sector both through academic education and hands-on experience. By living in a hotel management school, with Swiss and international students, you form close relationships and friendships as a consequence and you build a wide range of networking opportunities during your studies. I would totally recommend living on campus.

Thanks for the interview.

 

 

Back to Top

4. Semester Dipl. Hôtelière-Restauratrice HF (2017)

Sie studieren Hospitality Management an der SSTH. Was hat Sie dazu bewogen, dieses Studium zu beginnen?
Meine Leidenschaft für die Hotellerie habe ich früh entdeckt. Mit 15 habe ich meine erste Arbeitserfahrung in den Ferien gesammelt – in einem Hotel in Österreich. Von da an wusste ich, dass ich in Zukunft etwas mit Hospitality machen will. Darüber hinaus war ich Mitglied des Slow Food Youth Network und auch an der Organisation von Food & Wine Events beteiligt. Da die Schweiz international einen sehr guten Ruf in der Hotellerie-Ausbildung hat, habe ich gezielt in der Schweiz gesucht. Da bin ich auf die SSTH aufmerksam geworden. In der Familie sind wir sehr international. Meine Mutter kommt aus der Schweiz und aus Peru und mein Vater aus Italien. Als Schweizerin bin ich in Verona aufgewachsen. Wir sind aber alle vielsprachig und sehr reisefreudig und haben schon überall gelebt. Das ist es auch, was mich an dieser Branche so fasziniert. Ich werde international arbeiten können, andere Kulturen kennen lernen und viel von der Welt sehen.

Was ist Ihr Berufsziel? Haben Sie schon Ziele, was Sie nach der Ausbildung machen?
Nach dem Swiss Professional Degree in Hospitality Management werde ich noch das Bachelor-Studium an der SSTH mit einem Abschluss der EHL anschliessen und dann international arbeiten. Vielleicht in Asien oder in Südamerika. Eine Karriere in Marketing & Sales oder im Eventmanagement in der Hotellerie könnte sehr interessant sein. Ich kann es mir aber auch vorstellen in der Schweiz zu bleiben und zusammen mit meinem Bruder, der Koch lernte, ein Boutique-Hotel zu eröffnen. In der Schweiz fühle ich mich sehr wohl, insbesondere Zürich und Genf faszinieren mich, da diese Städte viel Internationalität ausstrahlen.

Waren Sie schon im Praktikumssemester? Was hat Ihnen im Praktikumssemester am besten gefallen?
Ja, im dritten Semester habe ich ein 6-monatiges Praktikum in Wiesbaden im 5-Sterne Luxus-Haus Nassauer Hof absolviert. Ich war vier Monate an der Rezeption und zwei Monate im Restaurant-Service im Michelin-Stern-Restaurant Ente tätig. Was mir am besten gefiel, war der Kontakt zu den Kunden. Ich fühlte mich sehr wohl dort, inbesondere auch, weil ich wie eine vollwertige Mitarbeiterin behandelt und meine Arbeit sehr geschätzt wurde.

Was gefällt Ihnen am besten an der SSTH?
Die ersten beiden Semester habe ich im englischsprachigen Lehrgang absolviert. Das Praktikum in Deutschland hat mir aber so gut gefallen und ich konnte mein Deutsch auch so gut verbessern, dass ich jetzt im deutschsprachigen Lehrgang das 4. Semester absolviere. Die Mehrsprachigkeit des Lehrganges ist ein grosses Plus der SSTH. Auch die Kombination der theoretischen und praktischen Ausbildung in den ersten beiden Semestern haben mir für mein Praktikum in Wiesbaden viel geholfen. Insbesondere war ich froh, dass ich bereits den Gala-Service kannte. Der Praxisunterricht ist sehr wertvoll. Alles nur aus den Büchern zu lernen, kann ich mir nicht vorstellen. Im Praktikum war ich auch froh, dass wir in der Schule das Hotelsystem Fidelio kennen gelernt haben. In Wiesbaden war dies das Hauptsystem. Dies hat mir im Praktikum an der Rezeption sehr geholfen.

Wo haben oder wo profitieren Sie persönlich am meisten? Wie gefällt Ihnen das Studieren und Wohnen auf dem Campus?
Aus dem Praktikum brachte ich viele neue Erfahrungen und vor allem auch digitale Kenntnisse in die Schule zurück. Ich glaube auch, dass ich mich persönlich stark verändert habe. Ich bin heute noch selbstbewusster und selbstständiger als früher. Das Wohnen im Schulhotel zusammen mit Mitstudierenden aus der Schweiz aber auch aus vielen anderen Ländern ist interessant und bietet die Gelegenheit Freundschaften und ein Beziehungsnetz auf der ganzen Welt aufzubauen. Darum kann ich es nur empfehlen, auf dem Campus zu leben.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch.

Back to Top